jack midson mobbed
Jack Midson .. mobbed by fans after his winning goal against Fleetwood.

JACK MIDSON has won his second consecutive WDSA Player of the Season award.

Only John Fashanu with three has won more WDSA POTS awards. Midson, who shaded Sammy Moore for WDSA’s best player award in the previous season, won by a more clear cut margin this timein the 27th running of the WDSA award. He beat runner-up Jon Meades by 49 votes.

Midson was responsible for the two memorable moments in an otherwise challenging last season for the Dons, who survived relegation to the Conference on the final day in a 2-1 win over Fleetwood Town.

Midson scored a fabulous diving headed equalising goal against League One Milton Keynes Dons in the FA Cup, only for the Franchise to win by a fluke back-heeled goal in injury time. And Midson was on the spot to preserve Wimbledon’s Football League status with his pressure winning penalty against Fleetwood.

He becomes the fourth forward to win the poll in the AFC Wimbledon era of the award, joining Kevin Cooper, Richard Butler and Danny Kedwell.jack midson closeup

Midson netted 15 times in 48 appearances last season and in two seasons with the Dons has 35 goals in 88 appearances in all competitions.

Midson polled 74 votes (including 15 top votes) to Jon Meades’ 25 (one top vote).

They were far and away the most popular choices among WDSA members, with defender Alan Bennett, signed on loan in January, finishing third with 14, just ahead of Luke Moore on 13.


WDSA Player of the 2012/13 Season voting:


25 —  Jon Meades

14 — Alan Bennett

13 —  Luke Moore

4– Harry Pell

2 — Charlie Strutton, Jim Fenlon, Gary Alexander


Wdsa player of the season winners

PAST WINNERS: 1986-87 JOHN FASHANU; 1987-88 JOHN FASHANU; 1988-89 DENNIS WISE; 1989-90 HANS SEGERS; 1990-91 JOHN FASHANU; 1991-92 ROBBIE EARLE; 1992-93 JOHN SCALES; 1993-94 DEAN HOLDSWORTH; 1994-95 WARREN BARTON; 1995-96 OYVIND LEONHARDSEN; 1996-97 CHRIS PERRY; 1997-98 MICHAEL HUGHES; 1998-99 JASON EUELL; 1999-2000 NEIL SULLIVAN; 2000-01 KELVIN DAVIS; 2001-02 KENNY CUNNINGHAM; 2002-03 KEVIN COOPER (AFCW);  2003-04 matt Everard; 2004-05 RICHARD BUTLER; 2005-06 ANDY LITTLE; 2006-07 ANTONY HOWARD; 2007-08 JASON GOODLIFFE; 2008-09 BEN JUDGE; 2009-10 DANNY KEDWELL; 2010-11 SEB BROWN; 2011-12 JACK MIDSON.